sharjeel usmani

It has been more than one month since Sharjeel Usmani, National secretary of Fraternity Movement and Anti-CAA Activist imprisoned in Aligarh Jail. He was arrested by the Uttar Pradesh Police from his house in Azamgarh on 8th July 2020. On that day, 5 people claimed to be from the Crime Branch detained him without an arrest warrant or memo and his books and laptop were also seized. Currently Usmani’s name is allegedly mentioned in 5 FIRs related to the Police-Paramilitary Violence in Aligarh Muslim University on 15th December 2019.

Sharjeel Usmani has been leading protests against the discriminatory Citizenship Amendment Act from the forefront in campuses as well as streets. He is one of the student activists who led the anti-CAA movement in Aligarh Muslim University, which has become an inspiration to the countrywide protests. He is vocal against Islamophobia in India and has been writing opinion articles in reputed portals and engaging in documenting anti-Muslim attacks.

We the undersigned, strongly believe that the arrest of Sharjeel Usmani is a part of the continuous arrests of leaders related with the Anti CAA movement. By targeting especially Student Activists in Aligarh Muslim University and Jamia Millia Islamia, the ruling regime tries hard to suppress the young activists. We demand immediate and unconditional release of Sharjeel Usmani and all other political prisoners.


  1. Ansar Aboobakar, President, Fraternity Movement.
  2. Dhaya Neppolean, State Joint Secretary, Radical Students’ Forum (VCK) – Tamilnadu.
  3. Kawalpreet Kaur, State President, AISA- Delhi
  4. Labeed Shafi, President, Students’ Islamic Organization of India
  5. M S Sajid, President, Campus Front of India
  6. Mozaherul Islam, President, Bihar Youth Organization- Bihar
  7. Nadeem Khan, United Against Hate
  8. Nahas Mala, President, Solidarity Youth Movement- Kerala.
  9. Sohini Shoaib, Jan Jagran Shakti Sangathan- Bihar.
  10. T A Kishore, State President, Cherama Sambava Youth Federation (CSYF)- Kerala
  11. P Ashrafali, President, Muslim Students’ Federation
  12. Asad Ashraf, Karvaan India.
  13. Aslah Kayyalakath, Editor, Maktoob
  14. Moktar Hossain Mondal, TDN Bengla
  15. Raees Muhammad, Dalit Camera
  16. Bhatta Ram, Former President, Tata Institute of Social Science SU
  17. Intekhab Alam, Vice-President, Maulana Azad National Urdu University SU.
  18. M Salman Imtiaz, Outgoing President, Aligarh Muslim University SU
  19. Samar Ali, General Secretary, English and Foreign Language University SU.
  20. Umar Faruq Quadri, President, Maulana Azad National Urdu University SU.
  21. Akshay Sawant, Coordinator, Ambedkara Periyar Phule Study Circle (APPSC), IIT Bombay
  22. Hiba bint Karim, Ambedkar Students’ Association, Pondicherry University.
  23. Iniyavan Banumathi, President, Ambedkar Students Association, HCU
  24. Jitendra Suna, Birsa Ambedkar Phule Students’ Association, JNU
  25. Muhammad Nihad PV, AMU Students Collective,
  26. Parimala, Forum for IT Employees (FITE)- Tamil Nadu
  27. Shashi Kumar, Convener, Bahujan Students Front, HCU
  28. Abdul Matin, Jadhavpur University- Kolkata
  29. Adv Syed Ghiyaduddin, student activist, Usmania University
  30. Ben J Anthrayose, Artist, Research Scholar, EFLU
  31. Kaleem Siddique, Social Activist, Ahmedabad, Gujarat.
  32. Ladeeda Farzana, Student Activist, Jamia Millia Islamia
  33. Nabiya Khan, Poet, Student Activist
  34. Raniya Zulaikha, Student Activist, Delhi University
  35. Shahid Lone, Writer, Research Scholar, Jamia Millia Islamia
  36. Shefali Saini, Research Scholar, TISS Mumbai.
  37. Shrutheesh Kannadi, Research Scholar, Pondicherry University
  38. Tejaswini Tabhane, Student Activist, Delhi University
  39. Adivasi Students’ Forum, TISS
  40. Dayar i Shouq Students Charter, Jamia Millia Islamia
  41. Democratic Students’ Union, JNU



Countercurrents is answerable only to our readers. Support honest journalism because we have no PLANET B. Become a Patron at Patreon Subscribe to our Telegram channel


Comments are closed.