Mumbai: Unprecedented Draconian Crackdown on activists, on “9th August Quit India Day!”

“Quit India ke Din pe, Gandhiji ka Par-Pota Jail mai!!”

*Freedom Fighter Dr. G G Parikh prevented from reaching the August Kranti Maidan, Tushar Gandhi, taken to Santacruz police station, Teesta Setalvad was stopped from leaving her residence!*

quit india stamp

Today, on the 81st Anniversary of the historic QUIT INDIA MOVEMENT led by Mahatma Gandhi, we have witnessed a draconian crackdown by the BJP-led regime in Maharashtra. Our veteran Freedom Fighters have been commemorating this epic day of our freedom struggle ever since 1943 itself. Dr. G. G. Parikh who was a young student when he participated in the Quit India Movement in 1942, and who continues to lead this march even at the age of 99, is utterly distraught at this bizarre turn of events.

It’s actually for the first time that the BJP-led government is attempting to commemorate this day, a day that their ideological predecessors had opposed, even as the RSS & Hindu Mahasabha connived with the British Empire. The advertisement issued by the BJP-led government does not even mention the QUIT INDIA MOVEMENT. It’s once again clear that the BJP-RSS are trying their best, or rather their worst, to co-opt and distort our freedom struggle.

Currently, around 50 activists are being detained at the D. B. Marg Police station, and will be let off only after the official programme is over.

More worryingly, early in the morning itself, the police went to the residences of Tushar Gandhi & Teesta Setalvad, and they were clearly told that they would not be allowed to go to the August Kranti Maidan. Later, Tushar Gandhi was taken to the Santacruz Police station, whilst Teesta Setalvad was asked to stay indoors.

Every year, we, as the People’s Movement, commemorate the “Quit India Movement” by marching from the Tilak Statue at Girgaum Chowpatty to the August Kranti Maidan. But this year, we have been prevented by this communal fascist regime.

This unprecedented crackdown on this historic day of our independence movement has only strengthened our resolve to continue to resist this attack on our democratic and constitutional rights. On this day, we thus take an oath to live by the traditions of our freedom struggle and continue to defend our country and our people.

Madhu Mohite, Feroze Mithiborwala, Guddi S. L. Prabhakar Narkar, Vishwas Uthagi & Poonam Kanojiya.

Support Countercurrents

Countercurrents is answerable only to our readers. Support honest journalism because we have no PLANET B.
Become a Patron at Patreon

Join Our Newsletter


Join our WhatsApp and Telegram Channels

Get CounterCurrents updates on our WhatsApp and Telegram Channels

Related Posts

Join Our Newsletter

Annual Subscription

Join Countercurrents Annual Fund Raising Campaign and help us

Latest News